ja9038505_si_001.pdf (352.11 kB)

Regiospecific and Stereoselective Syntheses of (±) Morphine, Codeine, and Thebaine via a Highly Stereocontrolled Intramolecular 4 + 2 Cycloaddition Leading to a Phenanthrofuran System

Download (352.11 kB)
journal contribution
posted on 19.08.2009 by Gilbert Stork, Ayako Yamashita, Julian Adams, Gary R. Schulte, Richard Chesworth, Yoji Miyazaki, Jay J. Farmer
Total syntheses of the morphine alkaloids are described that use a direct stereoselective formation of the phenanthrofuran system via an intramolecular 4 + 2 cycloaddition of a diene tethered to the 4-position of a 7-methoxybenzofuran-3-carboxylic acid ester.