jp507222n_si_001.pdf (251.03 kB)
Download file

Theoretical Study on the Size Dependence of Excited State Proton Transfer in 1‑Naphthol–Ammonia Clusters

Download (251.03 kB)
journal contribution
posted on 12.02.2015, 00:00 authored by Toshihiko Shimizu, Shunpei Yoshikawa, Kenro Hashimoto, Mitsuhiko Miyazaki, Masaaki Fujii
The geometries and energetics of the ground and lower-lying singlet excited states S0, La, and Lb of 1-naphthol (NpOH)–(NH3)n (n = 0–5) clusters have been computed using density functional theory (DFT) and time-dependent density functional theory (TD-DFT) methods. Cluster size dependence of the excited state proton transfer (ESPT) reaction was investigated by the vertical transitions from the geometries that can be populated in the molecular beam experiments. For the n = 3 and 4 clusters, the proton-transferred geometries cannot be accessible without significant geometrical rearrangement from the initially populated isomers. For the n = 5 clusters, the proton-transferred structure is found in the La excited state of the isomer that can be populated in the beam. Thus, ESPT is possible by the optically prepared Lb state via internal conversion to La. We concluded that the threshold cluster size of ESPT is n = 5 under the experimental condition with low excess energy.